This temple is one of the most appreciated ones by the parishioners of the capital city of Guanajuato since several centuries ago. Originally, it was a chapel with a roof made out of timber in honor to Our Lady of Guadalupe.
It was built early in the seventeenth century inside the smelting hacienda of Nuestra Señora de Guadalupe de Pardo. The chapel son gained faithful worshipers and in 1868 it was decided to turn it into a larger temple.
It is a building with a baroque style, prominent because of its stylized bell tower. But what mostly draws attention is the beautiful stone carved entrance on its facade that was originally in the facade of the San Juan de Rayas church building and carried to this point stone by stone in 1945. Inside, it has a chapel built in a neo-gothic style from the nineteenth century in honor to our Lady of Lourdes and a big irregular forecourt that makes it look even more peculiar.
This church has been deeply cherished by the parishioners of Guanajuato city for several centuries now. Originally it was a simple chapel with a wooden roof built in honor of Our Lady of Guadalupe.
Built in the early seventeenth century on the hacienda and foundry of Nuestra Señora de Guadalupe de Pardo, the chapel soon gained faithful worshippers and in 1868 it was decided to expand the building.
Built in the baroque style, the basilica is notable for its stylized bell tower. However, its outstanding feature is the beautiful doorway of carved stone that originally formed part of the façade of the church of San Juan de Rayas but which in 1945 was transferred stone by stone to the basilica. Inside the building is a nineteenth-century neo-Gothic chapel dedicated to Our Lady of Lourdes and a large, irregularly-shaped atrium, all adding to this building’s unique charm.